Nottingham Harmonic Choir

Handel Messiah

Royal Concert Hall

Sunday 4th December 2016 7:00pm

Further information on Messiah

Previous concert - C.P.E. Bach Magnificat

Haydn Nelson Mass

J.S.Bach Orchestral Suite no.3

Albert Hall, Nottingham
Saturday 7th November 2015 7.30pm

Bach Camerata
Soloists Katie Trethewey, Cathy Bell, Nathan Vale, Angus McPhee
Information Bach and Haydn

Previous concert - Mozart Mass in C Minor

Mendelssohn Psalm 95
Haydn & Beethoven

Albert Hall Nottingham
Saturday 21st March 2015 7:30pm

Orchestra da Camera
Soprano Katie Trethewey Soprano April Fredrick
Tenor Matthew Minter Baritone Angus McPhee
Review of Mozart Mass in C Minor


Royal Concert Hall

5:00pm Saturday 17th December 2016
7:00pm Monday 19th December 2016

Nottingham Harmonic Choir

Thoresby Colliery Band

Further information on Carol Concerts

Previous concert - Carmina Burana

Royal Concert Hall

12th March 2016 7:30pm

BBC Symphony Orchestra
nottingham classics
Further information on Carmina Burana

Southwell Minster

Duruflé Requiem

Kodaly Missa Brevis

Tippett Five Spirituals from a Child of Our Time

Saturday 14th May 2016 7:30pm

Further information on Southwell 2016 concert

In Memoriam

Buy Tickets Nave £20.00, Side Aisles&Disabled: £18.00

Accompanied Children (under 16)
£5.00 on the door

Vaughan Williams Dona Nobis Pacem

Elgar Spirit of England

Vaughan Williams Lark Ascending

Conductor Richard Laing
Violin Shulah Oliver
Soprano Stephanie Corley
Bass-baritone James Oldfield

Saturday 15th November 2014 7.30pm
Southwell Minster

Links to recordings on youtube - as a taster:
RVW Dona Nobis Pacem
Elgar Spirit of England
RVW The Lark Ascending

This concert is part of the Trent to Trenches events taking place in Nottinghamshire in 2014 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War in 1914.

The concert will feature works which are essentially a plea for peace, rather than any celebration of War. We hope in this way to honour those who gave their lives, so we can live.

Vaughan Williams Dona Nobis Pacem is exactly that - a plea for peace, written in 1936, referring to recent wars during the growing fears of a new one. His texts were taken from the Mass, three poems by Walt Whitman, a political speech by John Bright in which he had tried to prevent the Crimean War, and sections of the Bible.

Vaughan Williams Lark Ascending perhaps epitomises the emotions of those who valued what was good about the freedom of the English countryside in the early years of the 20th Century and felt that their duty was to preserve it for others, even if this required them to fight.

Elgar's Spirit of England is a setting of a collection of war poems by Laurence Binyon published in late 1914.
If you like other Elgarian choral works, like The Dream of Gerontius, you will like this too.
One of Elgar's friends, Sir Sidney Colvin, suggested that Elgar should compose a war requiem which captured the spirit of Binyon's poems.
Elgar was deeply affected by the suffering caused by the First World War and readily accepted Colvin's idea, selecting three of Binyon's poems - The Fourth of August, To Women and For the Fallen - to set to music. Elgar had not progressed very far, however, when he met Cyril Rootham, director of music at St John's College, Cambridge. To Elgar's consternation, Rootham revealed that he too was compoing a setting of For the Fallen.

Elgar faced a dilemma: For the Fallen was to be the climax of Elgar's work and he could not contemplate recasting it to exclude the poem. Yet by continuing, he would invite inevitable comparisons between the two settings, accusations of capitalizing on another composer's ideas, and Rootham's displeasure. Elgar prevaricated until prevailed upon by Colvin and others to proceed with his original plan.

Subscribe and follow us!